Samsung’s Certified Re‑Newed programme expands to include the 2026 flagship range
Samsung announced on 9 September that the Galaxy S26 family – the company’s third‑generation AI‑focused flagships – is now part of its Certified Re‑Newed (CRN) portfolio. The move brings the S26, S26+ and the top‑end S26 Ultra to the UK market as fully refurbished units sold directly from Samsung’s website, complete with the same two‑year warranty that backs brand‑new phones.
What the Certified Re‑Newed label means for buyers
The CRN badge is more than a simple “used phone” tag. Each device undergoes an in‑house refurbishment process that mirrors Samsung’s own production line standards:
- Thorough inspection – technicians check every component, replace any parts that show wear and run a battery health test.
- Genuine Samsung parts – only original components are used, ensuring the phone performs as if it were fresh out of the box.
- Factory reset – all personal data is wiped and the software is re‑installed to the latest version, guaranteeing a clean start for the new owner.
- Warranty parity – the refurbished units receive the same two‑year warranty as new models, covering hardware defects and providing access to Samsung’s support network.
For UK consumers who are comfortable buying a refurbished device, the programme offers a way to own a flagship without paying the full retail price, while still enjoying Samsung’s reputation for build quality and after‑sales service.
Flagship specifications at a reduced price point
While the article does not disclose exact pricing, the hardware inside the CRN phones is identical to the brand‑new counterparts. Here’s a quick rundown of what each model brings to the table:
| Model | Key hardware | Storage options |
|---|---|---|
| Galaxy S26 Ultra | Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 (or Exynos equivalent), up to 12 GB RAM, 108 MP main sensor, 10× optical zoom, 6.8‑inch QHD+ Dynamic AMOLED, 5,000 mAh battery | 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB |
| Galaxy S26+ | Same chipset, 8 GB RAM, 50 MP main sensor, 6.5‑inch FHD+ display, 4,800 mAh battery | 256 GB, 512 GB |
| Galaxy S26 | Snapdragon 8 Gen 3, 8 GB RAM, 50 MP main sensor, 6.2‑inch FHD+ display, 4,600 mAh battery | 256 GB, 512 GB |
The Ultra model also introduces a Privacy Display feature – a hardware‑level screen filter that narrows the viewing angle when turned on, making it harder for onlookers to see what’s on the screen. Samsung notes that the function is not AI‑driven; it simply limits the light spread, but it aligns with the brand’s broader push for on‑device privacy.
Software longevity – seven generations of updates
One of the biggest concerns for Android buyers is how long a device will receive software support. Samsung promises seven years of OS upgrades and security patches for the S26 series, meaning a refurbished S26 bought today should still be receiving Android updates well into the early 2030s. This long‑term support is a strong selling point for contract‑deal seekers who want to lock in a device for the duration of a typical three‑year contract without worrying about early obsolescence.
Why the Certified Re‑Newed launch matters for UK contract shoppers
- Cost efficiency – With the UK market still feeling the pinch of post‑Brexit price pressures, a refurbished flagship can shave several hundred pounds off the sticker price while still qualifying for carrier subsidies or contract discounts.
- Warranty confidence – The two‑year warranty mirrors that of a new phone, removing the usual risk associated with third‑party refurbished sellers.
- Environmental appeal – Buying a re‑newed device reduces electronic waste, a point that resonates with increasingly eco‑conscious consumers.
- Carrier compatibility – Because the phones are sold directly by Samsung, they are unlocked and can be paired with any UK network, making them ideal for customers who want to negotiate the best contract terms.
- Future‑proofing – The seven‑year update promise means the device will stay secure and compatible with new apps, a crucial factor for anyone planning a multi‑year contract.
Availability and colour choices
The refurbished S26 line is now live on Samsung.com/uk, offered in two colourways – classic Black and the more vibrant Cobalt Violet. While the Ultra’s Privacy Display is only available on the Ultra variant, all three models share the same warranty and software update schedule.
How to buy
Prospective buyers can simply navigate to the Samsung Certified Re‑Newed section on the UK Samsung store, select the desired model, storage capacity and colour, and proceed to checkout. The site clearly marks the devices as “Certified Re‑Newed” and lists the warranty terms alongside the price, making the purchase process transparent.
Bottom line for the UK Android audience
Samsung’s decision to roll out its Certified Re‑Newed programme for the latest S26 flagships gives UK shoppers a credible, warranty‑backed route to premium hardware at a lower price point. For those hunting a contract deal, the combination of unlocked status, long‑term software support and a full two‑year warranty makes the refurbished S26 series a compelling alternative to buying brand‑new devices outright.
All specifications are based on Samsung’s official release. Pricing and carrier‑specific offers were not disclosed in the source material.